Racism In 2006

I found an old sheet of answers I provided in a race discussion in some kind of classroom assignment from 2006, my freshman year in university. The paper does not list the questions; only the answers, and they don’t exactly indicate what the questions were. I provided pretty general answers overall.

The reason I am posting this is because, almost ten years later, it is interesting to see how I view race and other social issues of our time — issues that come up consistently and may never have an end. That’s just the way it is, at least for now. Have some of my views changed in comparison? Sure, but some have stayed the same. I guess it is up to you to decide.

1.  As said in one of the articles, I think that white people just live and they do not have to worry about racism affecting their lives.  I think that white people in general have more opportunities to succeed because they are the majority, especially when it comes to acquiring jobs and being in positions of power.  However, white people face disadvantages because they are constantly scrutinized for everything they have, whether it’s a white person in power or using race as an excuse in certain cases.  For example, if a white man beats a black man in an election, then black people will say that the election was a conspiracy against their race in general just because they are the minority.

2.  I think men are looked upon as the cornerstone of society in the sense that they are just bigger and more domineering.  I am not saying that is true, but I believe that many men feel they are more dominant in our society.  Males are known as the strength of families and corporations, the ones who have to bring in the money and support others around them.  That is partly where male disadvantages lie because women feel that they can also play that role and play it well.  In this day and age, females are along the same lines as males in the sense that they can support themselves and their families and are not obsolete in the working environment.

3.  I honestly do not think about any types of privileges I receive because of my race, although as I think about it I probably do have privileges that I just have never been aware of.  For example, I have received jobs that could have gone to African Americans, although that is not up to me.  I do think life is a little easier for me because I never have to think about my race being a factor in most situations.  I’m more of a firm believer in hard work and determination than race determining the outcomes of situations.

4.  Disadvantages are few and far between just because of racial backgrounds.  I could blame lost job opportunities, educational opportunities, or anything else on race, but it just doesn’t occur that often.  Of course racism exists in society, but I try my best to believe that only hard work gets you where you want to go.  You could blame the color of your skin on a lot, but it does not account for everything.

5.  I think that the race that has more power and opportunities in our society will feel less inclined to worry about racial tribulations.  There is a white president and that instantly causes many to scrutinize him because of his color and his position.  I still believe that people in power are respectful towards the smaller people in society.

6.  People get emotional and passionate over privileges gained and disadvantages felt just from the color of their skin or from their gender.  It is not an easy situation to talk about because many people feel strongly about it and it is sort of a touchy subject in our society.  Some people will feel more in touch with their race/gender, while others will still feel neutral in the big picture of things.  There are clearly many issues that still have to be discussed.

4 thoughts on “Racism In 2006

Leave a Reply

