Childhood Memories

When I was growing up, I always saw the old movie trailers that said “Siskel and Ebert give it two thumbs up” — and that meant something to me.

Now, they are both deceased.

When it came to movie critics, nobody surpassed Siskel and Ebert. They made the covers of VHS boxes strewn across video stores, they had their own TV show, and once Siskel passed, Ebert kept at it until his cancer held him down for good.

There are vivid things I recall from my childhood, such as the aforementioned VHS boxes and average technology. I also remember seeing ice cream trucks driving around the neighborhood once or twice a day. I recall Tonka trucks and sandboxes. A lot of the stuff you don’t even see anymore.

This may be why the passing of Roger Ebert has made me examine my childhood as a whole and wonder where it all went.

Leave a Reply

