Weightlessness

My eyes gazed on the page
Like a wolf on its prey,
If I read two more chapters
That will be ten I’ve read today.
The character more and more
resembles the inner workings of my brain,
He is one with the world —
Compassionate, loving and a little insane.
But what if sanity is vanity and happiness is obtuse?
That thought flowed through my head for every page I
cut loose;
Every moment that passed, my eyes blinking in disarray,
I couldn’t tame the dragon I was attempting to slay.
And options ran as cold as the blood in my veins,
This never-ending dream that always ended in dismay.
Leave a Reply

