After School Special

Straight Lace

Keep looking over my back–
Please, I implore you.
I’m doing my job and I’m doing it well,
I’m doing the best that I can.
To make the most of every chance I get
Is all that I can do,
But don’t be surprised when that day arrives
When it’ll be just you.
See, I want more and I will get it
Life’s too short to waste time
The hands on the watch tick the same every day
And I won’t be left behind.
Why, oh why, is the cupboard so bare
At this place in which I spend all my time?
The hands of fate have chosen this date
That to this point has been destiny unkind.
Leave a Reply

