Life is About the Journey

Is life meaningless?

This is a question I’ve pondered more in the last two-three years than I have in my entire life. I’ve gone back and forth on this predicament, and I refer to it as such because it can (and does) pose problems in regards to the psyche. My thoughts, views and opinions on life and its many unanswered mysteries are my own, and each person is on their own in that sense.

It’s fun to think about life and death, or maybe that’s just the type of morbid curiosity I have come to enjoy. Each is relevant and each exists, so the prospect of hiding from our earthly fears is to just run away from a problem we can’t solve. And it’s not even a problem; it’s actually more of a solution. When looked at from the simple perspective, life technically does not have any meaning. You are born, you live your life to whatever degree you decide, then you die and are remembered in different ways by those who are still alive on Earth. Nothing more, nothing less. It really is that simple.

But life and death are not simple. These two elements of humanity are so real that they invoke different feelings across the board. Some people fear death, some people don’t want to form a new life (through conception). However, the issue is over-analyzing both aspects of life in a vacuum and not appreciating what lies in between, which is the journey from birth until death. You learn to crawl, walk and talk, how to interact with the opposite sex and how to read a book. You realize that life has stages of different complexities, from an imagination-infused childhood to the sometimes dreaded teenage years to being a full-blown adult in a world that can (and might) bring you down if you don’t look out for yourself.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

I don’t really know what to do with myself. I used to always know what I wanted to do (be a sports journalist) ever since I was 14, but now I’m 24 and don’t think that is good enough for me. That sounds elitist, but I feel like I am destined for more. Sports are sports and they mean different things to different people. I still love sports, but there is more to life than points and home runs and glove saves.

I want to change the world. I know many people say that, but I feel it. The question is: how? How do I go from my currently dormant lifestyle to somewhere I can make an impact? I wake up to this thought and go to sleep with it. It’s actually driving me crazy as I type this diatribe.

I want to write about people. I want to perfectly describe the feelings and emotions of humanity in a way where people will read my words and be significantly moved by them. I want people to read what I write and tell their friends, and their friends can tell other people. I want to be Jack Kerouac and Eckhart Tolle and Ralph Waldo Emerson all rolled up into one, someone not confined by a certain genre or ideology. Maybe like a Noam Chomsky of sorts.

Henry David Thoreau once said, “Sell your clothes, keep your thoughts.” All humans need are their own thoughts and feelings and emotions to thrive, rather than materialistic and superficial distractions. Time is of the essence because we don’t know how much time we have. Since that is the case, we should enjoy every waking moment (and even the sleeping moments). We don’t know how long we have to grace this beautiful planet.

So, no, life is not meaningless. Look around and you’ll understand why. But most importantly, look within yourself.

2 thoughts on “Life is About the Journey

  1. Now you’re 26. Have you pondered the meaning of life even more? Where has it gotten you? I’m guessing nowhere.

    • Ah, my life is probably more fun and full of enjoyment than yours will ever be. Your personal attacks are humorous at best, and your tact is nonexistent. Sad life some lead.

Leave a Reply

