Keeping the Faith Where It Belongs: In Humanity

It’s interesting to wake up one day and realize that everything you believe in is inside of you.

That is how I feel nowadays.

A recent poll revealed that millenials (born in 1981 or later) are losing their faith in God. Do you blame them?

All of my morals and values are dependent on what I have learned and continue to learn as I grow older. The ride from Catholicism into a space that is religiously nonexistent is comforting on many levels; mainly because I can now focus on realistic visions and rid myself of the idealistic — and often miscalculated — world that revolves around religious deities, and the chaos and confusion that results from being ‘morally decent.’

A lot of it has to do with the younger generation being smarter. And I think the Internet has a lot to do with it, with information at our fingertips and these millenials (me included) using it to our advantage.

I was born and raised Catholic. My mother prays a rosary when she attends mass, my father often stands in as an usher during liturgies as well. I have had numerous rifts with my parents over religion, and they never given me a fair shake or let me explain why I think the way I do. I went to a Catholic school from K-12, being bombarded with Bible stories and theories as to why sex before marriage is wrong, why evolution is a farce and how stem cells are against God’s will.

Then, a funny thing happened in college: I started using my brain. I realized that human beings know right and wrong, kindness and ignorance, love and hate. Yes, they seem like obvious notions, but if you look around this world you realize that many people are literally insane — and religion invokes such hatred and bigotry, the insanity adds up to unruly amounts.

In regards to The Bible, I have met many Christians who admit that it is a book composed of lessons, rather than factual events. Followers are intended to learn from them. You really think two of every animal hopped aboard Noah’s boat and miraculously survived the flood of the century? This is why we have many social conflicts, when people take it literally. They take the homosexuality parts too literally as well, for example. How can society progress when it is living in the past in many accounts?

With age comes wisdom, but wisdom does not equate to intelligence. Those are inherently two different things. Maybe I have not lived as long as my parents, or people of their ilk, but I immerse in learning about everything I possibly can. Children these days have that unique opportunity to take advantage of everything the technological world has to offer. And I don’t think it’s surprising that when people have more information available to them and in a quick manner, they are bound to be more intellectually inclined to search deeper into what the truth is.

It’s funny because the religious crowd likes to bag on atheists and say they are uninformed. Lies. Atheists are actually so informed and so comfortable with their vision of humanity that they don’t breathe down the necks of Christians and Jews and Muslims. They are, in a word, humane.

I don’t know if I would consider myself an atheist, but I have lived by the ideology that being a good person and believing in the goodness of people is enough. I’m a damn fine person who cares for others. It’s not like my change in ideology has made me hate my family or want to go out and massacre people. That’s idiotic, although that is the religious standard in many accounts: be with us, or go rot in hell. How is that civil?

And churches wonder why attendance is down at Sunday mass or why people are beginning to think for themselves.

Leave a Reply

