The Fate Factor

I was just watching a trailer of Matt Damon’s new movie, The Adjustment Bureau, and it’s all about fate and how each person must “stay on their own path” in life. This got me thinking about life in general and how one moment can change everything.

Senior year of high school, I was thinking of just going to Wayne State University or Oakland University for college as both were closer and, more importantly, cheaper. I was accepted into the other two schools in which I also applied, Michigan State University and Central Michigan University, but CMU was just too far and MSU seemed too expensive.

However, my parents said to go as it would be the experience of a lifetime — and they were right. Best four years of my rather young life, but more importantly, I met my girlfriend at MSU on the very first day I moved into the dorms. After moving all my stuff in and having lunch with my parents, I was all alone and decided to venture campus while the only other person I knew going to MSU was still not there yet.

I went to the bus stop on the lonely east side of campus and met two beautiful girls, and I immediately was attracted to one of them more than the other. We flirted a little and it turned out she lived three floors below me, and we hung out and became close all year. On the day before second semester finals, I finally decided to ask her out and we are still together now. (It will be four years in May.)

Makes me realize that the entire concept of fate and “being at the right place at the right time” is as true as anything in this wild bane we call our existence. Now, there’s a definite difference between expecting something to happen on its own and going to seek it yourself. If I decided not to attend Michigan State, I probably would have never met my significant other. And, who knows, I may never have even chased my dream of being a journalist.

Things like this, well … it’s sometimes difficult to comprehend — just like the origin of the universe or how Charlie Sheen is smart enough to publicize himself by taking ordinary words like “winning” and putting them in an entirely new light.

Life is funny. Every experience we have helps us learn, from first riding a bicycle to going on a first date. The great part about it all is that we get to right wrongs and progress. That’s all we can ask for while we float around on a big globe across starry skies. It sure does seem fitting, though.

“Sometimes you’re flush and sometimes you’re bust, and when you’re up, it’s never as good as it seems, and when you’re down, you never think you’ll be up again, but life goes on.” – Blow

Leave a Reply

